29-week update

How far along: 29 weeks

Meds: all taken daily – prenatal vitamins, vitamin D, DHA, probiotic, Levothyroxine 100 mcg

Gestational diabetes: Sugars have been nice and stable the times I check – I’m currently just checking a first-morning fasting every other day, then 1 hour after either breakfast, lunch, or dinner on the other days, so it’s possible I could be missing some highs. But I will believe in my diet and willpower! I made this delicious lentil vegetable soup with bacon Sunday night, and that made it easier to have something ready to go when I came home for dinner. We’re expecting our first delivery of Hello Fresh today (if you’re interested, you can use my referral code 6KPDSS to receive $40 off your first delivery), since I didn’t like the options for Gobble this week (and Gobble only delivers to CA and NV at this time).

Baby is the size of: a butternut squash

Belly pictures: We’re experiencing a heat wave! Which makes me happy to finally wear my warm-weather maternity clothes 🙂 Another lovely find from Target.

PhotoGrid_1426191154171

Total weight gain: Crazily enough, no change from last week, so still almost 16 pounds up from pre-fertility weight. She’s definitely growing based on the increased strength of kicks I’m feeling. I think I gained too quickly prior to the GD diagnosis, and I’m now evening out more to where I should be (my mom gained just over 20 pounds with me and my sister).

Stretch marks: Still nothing, and very thankful!

Sleep: Had my first bad night’s sleep in a long time last night, getting up 4 times to pee. I think I’m going to have to give up my occasional green milk tea as bedtime snack :/ The caffeine seems to affect me more now. Will need to find myself a nice vanilla rooibos to drink instead.

Symptoms/Feeling: Hips still hurt occasionally, but I continue to exercise a lot, and I think this has a lot to do with how I feel and look. People keep marveling that I have no swelling whatsoever. I think every woman is different with every pregnancy, but I’m sure the GD diet contributes to me feeling this great!

Best moment of this week: Enjoyed a gorgeous Saturday morning stand-up paddling, then in the afternoon I PR’d my one-rep max barbell deadlift at 180 lbs, completely smashing my prior record! I probably could have gone up another 10 lbs, but both hubby and I agreed my form broke a bit at 180, and I’m not willing to push myself to injury. But I do feel like 200 lbs is a distinct possibility in the next month or so. Crazy!

Miss anything: As always – time. We originally planned our big Ikea trip for this weekend, but looking ahead, hubby and I don’t really have the time for crib and shelf assembly for a while, so why bother adding more craziness to the clutter? Going to wait another month or so.

Movement: Definitely stronger movements in there, I just hope that includes turning herself around from breech! I’m starting to look into Spinning Babies a bit in the hopes that it helps, though my next visit/ultrasound won’t be for another 5 weeks.

Food cravings: I indulged in a piece of zucchini bread for my morning snack, hopefully that holds me over on sweets for a while. I’m hoping to find time to make these chocolate peanut butter energy bites soon, using stevia as a sweetener.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Getting a bit of heartburn in the evenings, but no nausea at least!

Labor signs: Just the rare Braxton-Hicks.

Belly button in or out:  It’s definitely still an innie, but it looks like it has a hood now, lol.

Wedding rings on or off: Still on and loose. We’ll see how long this lasts as it continues to heat up!

Happy or moody most of the time: Happy with a little bit of time-crunch anxiety mixed in. There’s a lot that needs to be done in the next few months, including for my job and keeping up with certifications and license renewals. Not to mention taxes and drawing up a will!

Purchases/preparations for baby: We finally sat down together Sunday to view the online Lamaze class. While it was helpful in suggestions for different positions, I’m glad we didn’t fork over more money for a full childbirth prep class. My husband already found it too “granola”, with its constant admonitions about making sure your OB wasn’t pushing you towards more unnecessary procedures. I had to laugh, knowing that classes on Bradley method and Hypnobirthing are much more into natural birth than Lamaze! My current plan is to try laboring naturally, but knowing that I will request an epidural when I can’t take it anymore. Of course, this is all only if baby girl will turn in the next several weeks!

I also took a great breastfeeding preparation class last night. In my profession, I’ve encountered many lactation counselors, many of whom I consider to be breastfeeding Nazi’s. Like the baby will have lost 13% of their birth weight and need to be admitted for jaundice and dehydration, and they still tell the mom that they don’t need to supplement like what the doctors are recommending! Seriously… So it was a pleasant surprise to meet one who is much more even-keel, and all about making sure that both mom and baby are healthy and supported, no matter how much breastmilk and/or formula baby receives. I definitely picked up some good tips that I can use not only for myself, but in my practice as well! After talking with her, I finally forked over money for a little-known breast pump that’s been getting more press lately. I was lucky enough to find somebody on Amazon that was selling it brand new after she won it in a raffle at a nursing conference! I really do feel like my biggest hurdle in the first year of life will be trying to pump after I return to work, so I decided the extra money was worth spending to try and reach my goal.

Looking forward to: Sunday will be lovely – SUP yoga in the morning, followed by brunch with good girlfriends, and then a massage 🙂

5 thoughts on “29-week update

  1. wtfovaries says:

    You look fantastic! Great job on your PR!!!! I miss the gym so much. 😦
    Keep up the good work eating too!! Your body & baby will thank you!

  2. emmellin says:

    you look really great!

    most of the lactation consultants i encountered were well meaning but several yards past the sanity line. one had just given me some good advice (this was J in his 3rd mon th) and then told me: you know what always works? just unplug, drop everything, take the baby to bed with you, and just relax with him for a few days. Read, nap, watch some light television, and just let your body let go of any stresses. Let him cuddle you skin to skin and don’t worry about anything else, and after a few days you will discover your milk supply really growing again and he finds a natural way to latch on again.”

    really lady? you want me to lay in bed naked for days with my baby? that is SO realistic, sure there is just absolutely nothing else in the world that needs a new mom needs to be doing.

    it’s great you met more balanced advisors!!

Leave a Reply

