8-week update

How far along: 8 weeks

Meds: all taken daily – prenatal vitamins, DHA, probiotic, 1-2 generic Tums (both for calcium and antacid), Levothyroxine 112 mcg, Progesterone in oil 50 mg intramuscular injection, Progesterone 100 mg vaginal suppository. Giving myself the PIO has been a giant pain in the ass – yes, pun intended. The first day I had to give it to myself, it took me almost a minute to get 1 mL into my glute. Then the next, I was awkwardly twisting to my left, and managed to bounce the needle off my butt (drawing a drop of blood), and the syringe fell to the floor. Sigh…

Baby is the size of: a raspberry

Belly pictures: I think a tiny bit bigger than at 5 weeks, when I wore the same outfit.

PhotoGrid_1413479264095

Total weight gain: Maintained from last week, up 3.8 lbs from pre-fertility treatment weight.

Maternity clothes: I feel like I need to break into my stash soon – I am becoming increasingly uncomfortable with my regular clothes, belly bands or not. All I want to wear are dresses that aren’t fitted at my waist.

Stretch marks: Nope.

Sleep: Still napping on my cot at work at lunch when possible, I need to bring a pillow and blanket too though, it’s FREEZING and rather uncomfortable, though I can still conk out for 30 minutes or so. I’m getting about 8 hours a night, which is great considering I used to get by on 6.5 hours. I do get up at least once to pee though, sometimes twice if I’m not careful about restricting fluids in the evening.

Symptoms/Feeling: Full-blown everything it seems – fatigue, nausea, retching, and serious food aversion now. I’ve lost my appetite for most proteins except yogurt and peanut butter, and I couldn’t even stomach a salad at lunch today.

Best moment of this week: Our friend telling me how hubby smiled so big when she told him congratulations. Also hubby telling me he found something really cute for the baby while overseas for work, and wanting to surprise me with it when he comes home – made me smile so hard when I read his message 🙂 I haven’t seen him act this sentimental since we first started dating half our lifetimes ago!

Miss anything: Energy, and the ability to smell and eat food without extreme caution.

Movement:  Too early.

Food cravings: All I want is carbs. At least dumplings seem OK, so I’m getting some protein and veggie in. At the wedding I attended over the weekend, I ate 4 rolls with butter, mashed potatoes, and a small scoop of ice cream. I seriously don’t know how my table-mates didn’t notice. Oh yeah, because they were were all drinking! I stayed under the radar by toasting with my champagne glass, but then just setting it down while everybody else guzzled. Still surprised nobody commented on my glass remaining full the whole time 😛

Anything making you queasy or sick: Seems like almost everything with some nutritional value – so annoying! Rough car rides – my tendency for carsickness is definitely worse. Sea-Bands are on 90% of the time.

Have you started to show yet: I think I am, because a nurse at work asked me the other day as we were walking down the hall, after she glanced down at my stomach several times. And the dress I was wearing wasn’t form-fitting.

Gender: Should find out by 3 weeks from now!

Labor signs: No!

Belly button in or out:  Innie.

Wedding rings on or off: Staying on.

Happy or moody most of the time: Mostly happy, but very easy to cry – I ruined my eye makeup within the first few minutes of Sunday’s wedding, and proceeded to tear up every 15 minutes afterwards. Then the next morning, I had to say bye to my hubby before he took off for the airport, and I didn’t want to let him go!

Looking forward to: Ultrasound in 2 days, and hubby coming home in 6 days!!

3 thoughts on “8-week update

Leave a comment