Jetlagged and seeing the board-certified RE

So jetlagged right now, I should be sleeping but my mind can’t seem to shut down. It was wonderful to arrive home late yesterday, but I dreaded the return to the infertility grind. After my period arrived early on in our vacation, I was actually able to enjoy myself without thinking about cycle days, temperatures, and all that other crap. We even enjoyed non-procreative sex, which I realized has become much too rare in the last year and a half.

Somehow we managed to make the hour’s drive to see the board-certified RE who’s in my insurance group. First thing I noticed is that she’s pregnant. Shocker. She had great bedside manner, and really took the time to ask us tons of questions and explain where we’re at and where we’re headed. She thoroughly reviewed everything we’ve gone through so far, and recommended we repeat some of our labs, in addition to some new tests – a saline sonohysterogram for me, and a Kruger strict morphology test for the hubby. We’re now in a waiting period since I won’t be able to get my tests done until the start of a new cycle, and I need to figure out if hubby can turn in his sample closer to home. Or else he’s stuck driving the hour away and having to produce a sample in the clinic bathroom – not fun. I really wish this RE was closer to us, she is otherwise great all around.

I haven’t heard from my OB/GYN about the outside referral to a closer RE yet, will probably try calling tomorrow. At this point I’m OK with proceeding with the testing above, since I figured it’ll be needed no matter who oversees our next cycle. I’m not really sure what I’m going to do this cycle as far as temperature-tracking and OPKs, who knows what the overseas travel has done to my cycle.