Waiting game

I’m in the middle of my 2-week wait, or really, my 12-day wait since my luteal phase isn’t quite a full 2 weeks. I find this time pretty aggravating, since I feel like there’s not much I can do at this point, and I also feel pretty tired. This past week has been unusually lazy for me – I’ve only attended one aerial class and one yoga class. After realizing how many days it was taking for me to recover after an hour of weightlifting, I decided it wasn’t wise to sap my “qi” any further than necessary since I want it all directed towards conceiving. It’s so strange forcing myself to be a couch potato after becoming the opposite almost 4 years ago. Kind of makes me wonder whether we would’ve conceived more quickly if we’d started trying then. Probably, but that was also a time when I wasn’t happy with my life, and certainly didn’t feel ready to bring a child into the world. Figures…

2 thoughts on “Waiting game

  1. emmelle says:

    i can sympathize with the wait. with a 35 day cycle it feels like waiting is all i do (my luteal is good though, maybe too long, usually 15-16 if i’m counting correctly). i’ve had the same thought as you on your last comment — maybe if i’d start trying earlier it wouldn’t feel like such a compressed timeline now. however, there were also other things going on at the time that would have made that a very bad idea, so in the end, as trying as this can be, i for the most part accept that this is the right way to do it.

    is it also your experience that many people, including (surprisingly) close friends, don’t really know what to say, or often say the wrong thing to you without meaning to? or say very little because they perhaps don’t know where you stand emotionally on it? maybe i’m in a self-pitying phase, but i’m a bit surprised at how distant some of my best friends are to the issues i’m working through. understandably it can be an awkward topic sometimes, but l guess i just miss the basic “i know it’s been kinda rough for you, here’s something to make you smile…”. i’m lucky the husband seems to be trying to score brownie points and doing an extra good job of that, or maybe it’s my geographic distance from other ppl, which makes it hard to connect on such a knotty topic…

    • i’m looking forward to seeing if you get improvements with the acupuncture and herbs. i used to have 33-35 day cycles also but still with shorter luteal phases, i would just ovulate more around day 21-24! so an average of day 18 is a good step for me.

      definitely, people don’t know how to react if you tell them. it’s not like i bring it up randomly with most people, but what else do i say when we get asked? i’m lucky that a couple of my close friends have actually been through this, so they’re an endless source of support. the distance probably does make a difference though – i haven’t really told many people outside where i live.

      i just wish my parents would ease up. the husband doesn’t understand why i even told them in the first place, but after many months (ok, years) of haggling for a grandchild, i finally ‘fessed up that we were trying. and of course, everything they say is just completely upsetting to me.

Leave a comment